Damaged Disk Data Recovery Safe Practice

Fajar Purnama
7 min readOct 26, 2020

While it is true that the checking error process, the attempts to fix them, and the bad sector reallocation process are the procedures to fix a damage drive but they are actually the last steps in data recovery procedure. Sure that directly fixing a driver is faster and have a high probability of success but if you value your data, you should that there is also a low probability that the fixing process can further damage the drive and may result in your data permanently unretrieveable. Therefore, the safe practice procedure in handling the damaged driver is to secure the recoverabiltiy of your data.

Lessons Learned

I wrote this with experience where two events taught me this lesson:

  1. I had a shaky universal serial bus (USB) port and 4 terrabyte (TB) USB external hard drive with just the slightest touch could unsafely disconnect the external hard drive. I kept ignoring this and many times in a month, I watched videos for my external hard drive and often the video stops due to disconnection of me accidently touch the cable because of getting snacks and othe stuffs. Finally, there was a point when my external hard drive’s contents were unreadable on…

--

--

Fajar Purnama

this blog contains all my articles licensed under creative commons attribution customized sharealike (cc-by-sa) where you can sell but mention the open one here