Making Private Streaming Server as Media for Surveillance Cameras with Red5

Fajar Purnama
8 min readNov 27, 2020

Note

This is my undergraduate assignment that I translated to English in Web-Based Telecommunication Applications where we are free to be in groups or alone and I chose to be by myself. The assignment is to experiment with software streaming servers. I prioritized others to choose their software such as HTML5, VLC, and Adobe Flash, in the end I got the rare one, Red 5. This task has never been published anywhere and I as the author and copyright holder license this task customized CC-BY-SA where anyone can share, copy, republish, and sell, provided that my name is mentioned as the original author and mention that the original and open version available here.

Chapter 1 Introduction

1.1 Background

Red5 server is an open source streaming server to provide video streaming facilities on the web. Examples of websites that specifically provide streaming videos are youtube and dailymotion, many more that haven’t been mentioned yet. With a ready-to-use Red5 server (no need to add internet programming, unless there is a special need) the Red5 server can also be called a CMS (Content Management System). Users just need to use it.

Around the world, many have used Red5 as a local streaming server, there are also some who use Red5 to publish on public servers. So far, Red5 has only been used as a video website. But I don’t know if anyone has tried Red5 as a media on…

--

--

Fajar Purnama

this blog contains all my articles licensed under creative commons attribution customized sharealike (cc-by-sa) where you can sell but mention the open one here